backroom market

Published:

We were going into grey dark dingy abandoned looking market in search of nasal medicine, flonase, as my allergies were acting up. The entire place was dismal and felt haunted. The greyness itself leaked, making the world seem monochrome. Despite being a supermarket in a previous life, the scrap metal and cobwebs strewn about gave it an industrial feeling. Only the rightmost aisle was accessible. A stack of cheap white plastic crates formed the wall of shelving, with meagre stock strewn about the aisle haphazardly. We crawled our way to the end and made this messy situation worse as we moved and searched. There was no nasal spray to be found there, digging through the pile of things at the end, but I did find a few other things of use enough to purchase. We gave up after a bit and began walking out, but I kept an eye on the crates and spotted off brand allergy nasal spray, which I scooped up before excitedly, running outside to show off my find.