train atrium

Published:

Catching a train with some friends. While walking, I get the sense the station is deep underground and part of a massive facility.

We all scan at the entry, but I go first and scan something that has me walk through before paying. The turnstile is still paid up. I tell my brother but he pays anyway, and so does our friend. So I tell a stranger still waddling over that he can get on for free.

We all walk together down towards the tram. The tunnels are curved above us and wind to and fro. There's another set of turnstiles, but the single-car train has stopped before them, so we all pile aboard. It is on a rickety set of raised tracks that go along until the tunnel opens up into a wide atrium of tracks all passing around one another in the dim light, like some kind of model train set.

I panick for a moment as I realize I don't have my backpack, but then my large friend shows me he has it tucked away like a folder among the large pile of things he is carrying.